Voting is not just a right, it’s an opportunity to have your say on what’s important to you, your whanau and your community. This October 2016 is your chance to have a say on who represents your community and the Waikato district for the next three years.

You will be voting for:

  • Waikato District Mayor (the Mayor is elected on a district-wide vote)
  • Waikato District Councillors (13 Councillors are elected to represent 10 Wards, or areas, in our District)
  • Community Board members (Community Boards in Huntly, Ngaruawahia, Onewhero-Tuakau, Taupiri and Raglan look after local interests and provide a link between the community and the Council)

In addition to voting for a Mayor, Councillors and Community Board members, Waikato District electors will also vote for:

  • Waikato Regional Council members
  • Waikato District Health Board members
  • Counties Manukau District Health Board members
  • Te Kauwhata Licensing Trust members


About Waikato District Council 

The purpose of  Waikato District Council is to meet the current and future needs of your community. This includes good-quality local infrastructure, public services and performance of regulatory functions in a way that is most cost-effective for households and businesses.

The Council is responsible for:

ward-mapWard Map

If you don’t know what ward you live in or how many Councillors you can vote for, find out using our ward map.

governanceGovernance structure

Not sure how all the different roles of Council fit together? Find out using our governance structure graphic.

communityCommunity boards overview

There are five Community Boards in the Waikato District. Find out where these are located using our Community Board map.